Student’s Paste Paper AKA Being (age) 5 again

pastepapr15elnsprpnkswrlsmll.jpgpastepapr25davidredorsmll.jpg

pastepapr9asusmc_rdblusmll.jpgpastepapr31gerldnburgblusmll.jpg

Beginning from the top: Ellen Springwater, David Spain, Susan McClure and Geraldine Rose. Aren’t these YUMMY?!?!

So, I only have a few large pieces of other’s papers in my personal collection, but I witness the amazing creation of these Rorschach-like paintings from friends and students quite often. I would show more, but alas I need to scan pieces bigger than the swatches I have begged for. My begging continues….!

One of the most interesting things about working on these with my crazy free-for-all anti-perfection process is that everyone’s personality shines through the work. If you’re feeling freaky or blue or fabulous or funky, it is bound to reveal itself. Folks often find that they think that their particular paste paper “looks the same” (yeah, right!). It’s just that each person does tend to have a style or repetitive almost meditative-ness to his or her stroke. (Thus, in my opinion the entire process becomes a therapeutic way of letting go.) And if you don’t “like it”, just…paint over it! Add another coat! How liberating!!

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

